Single Carrot Theatre is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

OUR HISTORY:
In 2006, a small ensemble from the University of Colorado conducted a nationwide search and decided to lay down roots and build a theatre in Baltimore. Now, entering its tenth season, Single Carrot theatre has produced 43 mainstage productions, participated in numerous collaborative endeavors with area nonprofits, offered extensive educational programming for both children and adults and engaged in international exchanges with theatre artists from Russia and Bulgaria. Single Carrot Theatre moved to a permanent home in January 2014. Firmly planted in Baltimore, Single Carrot Theatre has made it a priority to be a part of the community and to engage and empower Baltimore’s residents through theatre.

OUR MISSION:

The Single Carrot Theatre ensemble is a driving force for theatrical innovation in Baltimore—championing new, diverse, and socially significant works; reinvigorating the classics; creating vibrant theatrical experiences; and fiercely supporting the growth of young artists.

Read more about our move in an article by the Washington Post (free registration required)

Click on an image to view the full biography.

Ensemble Members

 Genevieve 2

      Paul 2

Alix 2

Genevieve de Mahy

Founding Ensemble Member
Artistic Director
gdemahy@singlecarrot.com

Paul Diem

Ensemble Member,
Director of Audience Engagement
pdiem@singlecarrot.com

 Alix Fenhagen

Ensemble Member
afenhagen@singlecarrot.com

Matthew Shea

Ensemble Member
mshea@singlecarrot.com

Lauren Jackson

Ensemble Member
ljackson@singlecarrot.com

 Ben Kleymeyer

Ensemble Member, Interim Company & Production Manager
bkleymeyer@singlecarrot.com

Kate Lynch

Ensemble Member

klynch@singlecarrot.com

Meghan Stanton

Ensemble Member, Marketing & Communications Associate
dmorris@singlecarrot.com

Staff

Paul Wissman

Managing Director
pwissman@singlecarrot.com

Ryan Nicotra

Development Director
rnicotra@singlecarrot.com

Kristin Hessenauer

Interim Technical Director
khessenauer@singlecarrot.com

Aaron Greenlun

Bookkeeper

aaron.greenlun@gmail.com

Associate Company Members

Molly Raven Hopkins

mhopkins@singlecarrot.com

Heather Jackson

hjackson@singlecarrot.com

Steven Krigel

skrigel@singlecarrot.com

Jessica Rassp

jrassp@singlecarrot.com

Fellows

Education and theatrical immersion are significant parts of Single Carrot Theatre’s vision. Part of that vision includes our Fellowship Program, which is a one year program dedicated to learning about what it means to be a part of an ensemble theatre- onstage, backstage, in the office, community, and classroom.

Each Season’s Fellowship Class is chosen from a pool of distinguished applicants. Once accepted into the program, the fellows are fully immersed in SCT artistically and administratively.

Introducing Our Season 11 Fellows!

Alisa Glenn

Alisa Glenn is a recent graduate of the Maryland Institute College of Art. Her artistic practice consists of costume design, puppeteering and performance. Through these methods creates work that focuses on humor, absurdity and social commentary. She has participated in Baltimore Fringe Festival as well as puppet shows and parades throughout the city. She is excited to join the Single Carrot Theatre’s ensemble as a fellow for Season Eleven.


David Hills

David J. Hills is a playwright, poet, and theatre practitioner originally from Western Maryland. He is a recent graduate of Goucher College where he earned his B.A. in English and Theatre. He is elated to have the opportunity to learn and grow as an artist under the guidance of Single Carrot and the Baltimore theatre community.


Board of Directors

Click for an overview of our Board of Directors