Single Carrot Theatre is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

OUR HISTORY:
In 2006, a small ensemble from the University of Colorado conducted a nationwide search and decided to lay down roots and build a theatre in Baltimore. Now, entering its tenth season, Single Carrot theatre has produced 43 mainstage productions, participated in numerous collaborative endeavors with area nonprofits, offered extensive educational programming for both children and adults and engaged in international exchanges with theatre artists from Russia and Bulgaria. Single Carrot Theatre moved to a permanent home in January 2014. Firmly planted in Baltimore, Single Carrot Theatre has made it a priority to be a part of the community and to engage and empower Baltimore’s residents through theatre.

OUR MISSION:

The Single Carrot Theatre ensemble is a driving force for theatrical innovation in Baltimore—championing new, diverse, and socially significant works; reinvigorating the classics; creating vibrant theatrical experiences; and fiercely supporting the growth of young artists.

Read more about our move in an article by the Washington Post (free registration required)

Click on an image to view the full biography.

Ensemble Members

 Genevieve 2

      Paul 2

Alix 2

Genevieve de Mahy

Founding Ensemble Member
Artistic Director
gdemahy@singlecarrot.com

Paul Diem

Ensemble Member,
Director of Audience Engagement
pdiem@singlecarrot.com

 Alix Fenhagen

Ensemble Member
Managing Director
afenhagen@singlecarrot.com

 Kellie 2

Dustin 2

Lauren 2

Kellie Mecleary 

Ensemble Member,
Producing Director
kmecleary@singlecarrot.com

 Dustin Morris

Ensemble Member
dmorris@singlecarrot.com

Lauren Saunders

Ensemble Member

lsaunders@singlecarrot.com

Staff

Jason Randolph

Technical Director
jrandolph@singlecarrot.com

Ryan Nicotra

Development Director
rnicotra@singlecarrot.com

Meghan Stanton

Marketing & Communications Associate
mstanton@singlecarrot.com

Aaron Greenlun

Bookkeeper

aaron.greenlun@gmail.com

Alexander Scally

Teaching Artist

ascally@singlecarrot.com

Kristin Hessenauer

Assistant Technical Director
khessenauer@singlecarrot.com

Jessica Rassp

Production Assistant and Scenic Charge
jrassp@singlecarrot.com

Associate Company Members

Molly Raven Hopkins

mhopkins@singlecarrot.com

Heather Jackson

hjackson@singlecarrot.com

Steven Krigel

skrigel@singlecarrot.com

Jessica Rassp

jrassp@singlecarrot.com

Matthew Shea

mshea@singlecarrot.com

Fellows

Education and theatrical immersion are significant parts of Single Carrot Theatre’s vision. Part of that vision includes our Fellowship Program, which is a one year program dedicated to learning about what it means to be a part of an ensemble theatre- onstage, backstage, in the office, community, and classroom.

Each Season’s Fellowship Class is chosen from a pool of distinguished applicants. Once accepted into the program, the fellows are fully immersed in SCT artistically and administratively.

Introducing Our Season X Fellows!

Brian Gilbert

BDG Headshot BWBrian Gilbert is a Maryland native and a recent graduate from Johns Hopkins University, where he received a B.A. in Writing Seminars and Cognitive Science. Making the most of these two disparate majors, Brian has decided to go into theatre. Brian has performed in shows in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, the Stoop Storytelling Series, and he currently performs musical improv with the Baltimore Improv Group. He is incredibly excited to be part of Single Carrot’s Season 10 Fellowship Class.


Ben Kleymeyer

headshot 2 Ben Kleymeyer is a theatre artist and recent graduate of the University of Maryland. They are thrilled to be joining Single Carrot and the Baltimore theatre community this season. Outside of Single Carrot, Ben works as an assistant director around DC, most recently with the Kennedy Center’s MFA playwright workshop. They are also a co-founder of Nine Dollar Bill Theatre, a DIY Queer performance collective in College Park, Maryland.


Board of Directors

Click for an overview of our Board of Directors